Posted by: mylifeofcrime | December 17, 2012

Song of the Day: Hurt by Johnny Cash

Johnny Cash

Hurt

I hurt myself today
To see if I still feel
I focus on the pain
The only thing that’s real
The needle tears a hole
The old familiar sting
Try to kill it all away
But I remember everything

What have I become
My sweetest friend
Everyone I know
goes away
In the end
And you could have it all
My empire of dirt
I will let you down
I will make you hurt

I wear this crown of thorns
Upon my liar’s chair

Full of broken thoughts
I cannot repair
Beneath the stains of time
The feelings disappear
You are someone else
I am still right here

What have I become
My sweetest friend
Everyone I know
goes away
In the end
And you could have it all
My empire of dirt
I will let you down
I will make you hurt

If I could start again
A million miles away
I would keep myself
I would find a way

Responses

  1. WOW !!! What a song! My grandson listens to this song all of the time. The pain these kids have today is, to say the least; so very sad. He is a recovering heroine addict, so this song really touches his heart & soul. Johnny found God, lets hope & pray all of these hurting kids do the same & very soon. God Bless you Johnny, have a talk with God about these kids.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,541 other followers

